A Day in My Housewife Life

IMG_6876

Wearing his Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Shell

I sit on my carpeted back steps thinking about everything that has happened so far today. My four year old is riding his trike and my two year old is napping. This also happens to be my favorite part of the day because it is the quietest. I can actually take a deep breath and think.

I wonder constantly if people are bored by the housewife life stories I tell. There are days that are literally revolved around my children’s bowel movements, but who wants to hear that?

My morning started at 6am in MY bed! It is truly a rare phenomenon. Usually every night one or both of my boys wake up and I end up sleeping either on the couch or in their bed. So to wake up next to my husband was a short-lived treat!

I say short-lived because in no time at all my four year old awoke and stood at the doorway shouting, “Mommy I’m awake! Stand up!”

IMG_4682

Good Morning!

I always thought I moved pretty quickly and my husband labels me a woman who is rushing life so when my two sons are throwing tantrums for their morning milk, part of my tired self is so confused. Am I not moving fast enough? Good grief! Why doesn’t milk pour faster and why didn’t I rewind this VHS last night? Oh yes, we recently became the owners of a VCR with a bag full of fun “new” movies. In a minute they have their milk filled sippy cups, a few minutes more and their movie is on and I make my way back to bed.

By 8:15am my four year old and I commenced our first weeding event together!  Okay, not my first time but it was his first time to help. As we went out the door, I said to my two year old that we were not playing, we were going to weed and work, but he began to scream “bike! bike!”. He loves playing outside. Daddy was there with him but he screamed for me. I felt so bad! He sounded so sad, as if I had just favored my four year old and left him behind. Poor little guy. Anyhow, my four year old was given the responsibility to hold the plastic bag while I pulled weeds. He was a champ! I found a special surprise: a bloody bird leg with lots of feathers on the side. Nice. I genuinely did not have much patience to do more weeding than the front of the house so we finished up and went back inside. I tell myself no one notices a weedy garden anyways.

IMG_6877

He would not sit still for a haircut, so we buzzed him bald!

Have you ever had one of those days where everything is just annoying? Maybe the world has not changed one bit but some days, those same things just grate your nerves? Or is it just me? I found the thought of having a shower incredibly annoying. Seriously, no one ever sees me apart from my kids and husband! Sometimes I just could care less about my appearance. Plus my back hurt from the weeding and I just wanted to sit. Sit and sulk with Axel’s cuddles in my lap and postponed my shower until later.

At some point in the 11’o clock hour my husband came downstairs from his office, which he never does, and announces he is going to the store to run an errand. I want to go! I need out of the house! Can we just tag along and sit in the car? I need adventure in my life! Running errands is an adventure? Yes! ANYTHING that gets me out of the house is, in my book, an adventure! Anything can happen. You just never know what you’ll see, who you’ll meet, your life can change!

Of course I did not shower on a day when my life could possibly change from a spontaneous adventure. Of course! Grrr at my own laziness.

Oh what luck! I had a few bucks in my wallet and a coupon! And with a lovely husband behind the wheel, me and my two year old got dropped off at a fabric store for a goody while he and our four year old went to do their thing.

IMG_2584

I love the smell of fabric stores. I love walking up and down the aisles and looking at all the gorgeous fabrics. I love fabric. As a kid I remember fabric shopping with my mom. I used to feel the fabric and rub two sides together. I loved the silkier fabrics because they were smooth to the touch. Those few memories are now very important to me. A subtle sign of destiny?

I have a list of projects and ideas I’d like to do. Oh to choose only one! Which one?!  What fun! What a good day this is turning out to be! I ask the lady at the cutting counter the cost and she gave me the exact price. Perfect, I had just enough.

I get to the check out and hold up! That’s MORE than what the cutting counter lady said! TAX?!?! I always forget they charge extra for tax on everything! (except food) I was 89 cents short! How embarrassing! I call the lovely husband to rescue me and he is on his way, my hero.

IMG_3069

It was sweet when the lady behind me offered a dollar but my husband was already walking in. Maybe I looked like life was rough with my no makeup face, un-showered self, a bandana on my head and a fussy toddler. Who knows but God bless the selfless people in this world who still do good deeds for others.

Back at home it was peanut butter and cinnamon sandwiches for lunch. My boys refuse to eat the crust and I don’t like wasting food. So there was my lunch. I am pretty convinced this is also why I can never lose weight! They ask for another sandwich and then won’t eat it, so I do! Sometimes I think I won’t bother trying to lose weight for another ten years. Ten years might seem like a long time but anything less than that kind of stresses me out.

I put the bread, peanut butter and cinnamon away, sneak some chocolate chips into my mouth without anyone seeing, put my two year old down for his nap, and me and my four year old go outside to play.

IMG_6875

And that’s where I am.

He is on his trike and pedals around the driveway. Occasionally he will stop and just look at me. I tell him to keep playing and he tells me I have to watch him.

And I do. I watch him. My son. Why do I let silly little things get to me? I love him. His innocence. He pulls at my heart strings when he says, “mommy I’m four. I just want to talk to you.” When he says, “please can you just be happy?” My eyes suddenly open and I just see a little boy, four years old, and I’m just a mom, everything else in life are details. I try my best. I am so far from perfect. I thank God that this little boy has such an unconditional love for me and that he is completely mine.

The rest of my day consisted of me finally having that shower, sharing a bowl of popcorn with my four year old while the other still napped, and really all we did after that was play together, laugh together, we ate, we talked, we giggled, we chased and we hugged until bedtime.

Why do I get annoyed by these huge blessings? These two adorable little boys.

It was a good day when I finally decided to make it good. x

IMG_6879

Leave a Reply

