Lessons From My Toddler: The Importance of Listening

IMG_4037

I have a son who struggles with listening.

He will come to me with a problem and I will try and answer him or guide him but most of the time, he just repeats himself over and over again without listening to what I am trying to say. If he isn’t listening, how will he know what to do?

It gets frustrating. The answer or solution is usually quite simple.

I especially go nuts when he is in pain and refuses to let me help him. He will cry and complain to me but refuses to do what needs done. I don’t want to see him in pain! And I know exactly what he needs. But some things cannot be forced. Of course we try to talk to him, reason with him, but many times, he is simply not listening. He will have to learn the hard way.

One day it dawned on me again how similar we adults are and how we often do the same.

We cry out to God when we are suffering, but are we listening when He tries to answer back?

Some things are simple. Some things He has tried to tell mankind for thousands of years, and sadly there are so many closed ears. And often, we are stubborn and end up having to learn the hard way.

I know God loves us. I know He has answers. We are the ones who need to listen.

I love my son and for all the things he is teaching me.

I recently found this quote:

“While we teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.”

xx

Leave a Reply

