“Hi America! I’m Here!”

IMG_0121

The title is taken from my toddler. He was so cute one afternoon and I caught a ten second video of him saying that. You can watch it here.

So it has been a few weeks, and it’s all been craaaaazy!

Moving a family of four across the ocean is not easy! I know families around the world are moving all the time and I’m just another one but I sure wouldn’t want to do it again! LOL

We have been so blessed to have such wonderful friends and family help us along the way. My husbands family and friends here prepared for our arrival while my family and friends there helped us depart. And especially grateful to my lovely in-laws for coming to England the weekend before and flying back with us! Saying good-bye to my mom and sister was really hard! (I’ll probably cry until I see them again!) We are a lucky generation to have Skype and other options to stay in touch.

I know I posted about packing before and I’m already regretting a few items, but c’est la vie* right?

Now we are still settling into our new home and I am so grateful for all the preparations and everything that was given to us to help us get a good start. As a housewife especially I must say my daily life doesn’t change much! I take care of the kids, cook and clean. What changes are my surroundings and “tools”. And time to shop is RARE! And to actually shop in a place where I don’t know where to find anything is very frustrating. I am truly grateful for such wonderful people in our lives that understood that and gave so much. It has also helped the kids adjust! They were happy to have their new bedroom ready for them with toys and puzzles and all sorts to now call their own. Their space. As a believer, I believe that when God sends His angels, He sends them through family and friends.

Of course from time to time I miss our home in England too. I can just thank God for giving me a good life with good memories to cherish.

Having been gone a long time, it’s nice to be reminded of the things that used to be familiar or “normal”. Watching the huge flocks of birds migrate south. Hearing the train whistle in the morning. Smelling a scent I used to wear as a school girl. Tasting my old favourite snacks. And speaking with American terms again! (USA:Mail. UK:Post.)

We are happy to be home and to be reunited with all that we have loved and missed. It’s all bittersweet but mostly sweet.

Hope to post more regularly soon! xx

*such is life

One thought on ““Hi America! I’m Here!”

  1. America is a more beautiful place because you are back Nancy! I believe that all that you have been through is because Heavenly Father loves you and is preparing you for a great work. You are special! Always remember that. Welcome back Nancy! I have missed you. I hope I get to see you again!

Leave a Reply

