Lessons From My Toddler: The Missing Yellow Egg

A few days after Easter, Ethan, my toddler, was collecting all of his new easter eggs. There was a big and small one of blue, green, yellow and pink. With his two small arms and hands he would hold five of them at a time. The other three were full of candy in the cupboard as a treat when he has done something very good. On this particular morning, he could not find his yellow egg. Realising it was missing, he ran to me and cried for “mommy find it!” I have to mention here that over the past year I have become quite the expert on finding lost toys! He must have figured that I would certainly know where it was. However, I could not find the yellow one either. After a while I said to him, “be happy for what you have and we’ll find it later!” My response was not good enough. He insisted. He cried. He pulled on my leg. We continued to look. In all honesty my mind was preoccupied with other things I had to do and felt I was wasting time on a silly egg. At that moment I looked at Ethan who held all his other eggs and I watched him carefully place the eggs on the floor. He then picked them up again and looked around and as if he were calling out to it, said “yellow egg!”  This parable came to mind:

“What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness and go after that which is lost, until he find it?” -Luke 15:4

Eventually, we did find the yellow egg. And though it may be just a toddler who wanted all of his eggs, it was a good reminder to me of how I should feel about those who are lost. I should care. I should do. I should not give up. I should love.

I am grateful for the lessons my son teaches me. He is so innocent and pure in heart. x

Leave a Reply

