Be The Strong Crab

My heart is constantly occupied by love for my family, my memories, my friends, old conversations, books I have read that touched me and a lot of endless emotions. There is a little awkward square somewhere in my heart that is just for me. It contains my desire to reach goals that I have set for myself in hopes of reaching some sort of potential I might have. I do not know what that is yet because I still need to try. I’m stuck in excuses.

I recently heard a story about black crabs in a bucket. If a bunch of black crabs are put into the bottom of a bucket, doomed to captivity. Eventually, one crab will stretch his leg up and attempt to climb out. As the crab does so, the other crabs grab it, not allowing that crab to continue its possible escape. Sometimes the crab is strong enough and breaks loose from the others and gets away, but often the crab stays trapped.

How often do we try to break free from whatever captivity we find ourselves in and sadly someone tries to hold us back? Perhaps we try to break free from our own low self esteem only to be met by someone else’s criticism. Or perhaps we find ourselves wanting to progress in other ways and there is a lack of encouragement from others. And who are the crabs trying to pull us down? Is it a friend? A work colleague? A family member? What right do they have to hold us back from reaching our goals.

Personally, I know I have had to let go of certain people who held me back so that I could move forward. Whether it be someone I once called a friend or whether it was ending a relationship. We need to be strong within ourselves and it is often not easy. No one wants to be trapped. We should surround ourselves with those who encourage and uplift us. We should also check that WE are the ones who are also encouraging others and not being the one who drags the negative, pessimistic talk.

It probably took courage for that crab to try and stretch its leg in front of everyone, to see if it could actually reach the top of the bucket, and then to test its own strength to lift itself out. We need courage to try to reach our potential in all that we do and not get caught up with what others might think.

Here are some quotes I often refer to when feeling down:

“Sometimes it takes a good fall to really know where you stand.”

“When people hurt you over and over, think of them as sandpaper. They may scratch you and hurt you a bit but in the end, you end up polished and they end up useless.”

“When nothing goes right….. Go left.”

“Never give up on something you can’t go a day without thinking about.”

The worst mistake anyone can make is being too afraid to make one.”

The story of the crabs has really moved me this weekend. I want to be the strong crab who breaks free. After I have this baby, I will stop the excuses and finally do what is in my heart. x

(photo credit here)

One thought on “Be The Strong Crab

  1. “When people hurt you over and over, think of them as sandpaper. They may scratch you and hurt you a bit but in the end, you end up polished and they end up useless.”

    ^^ I love this quote. Thanks Nancy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

