How We Met

I love recounting how my husband and I met. I love sharing the story and hearing how other couples met too! I would love for my readers to participate in this, sharing your story.  I will occasionally write up a fictional peice of how my husband and I COULD have met just for fun. If you’re single, how do you imagine meeting that special someone?

Here is how my husband and I met, even if he might tell it differently 🙂

I remember my husband from when I was a teenager. His sister and I were friends. Shaun was always cute and VERY nice to me. We danced together at youth dances and I could always count on him to make me smile. Over the years, I never forgot Shaun. Years ago when living with flatmates in London, a girlfriend and I were talking about boys back home. I mentioned Shaun, the boy who always made me feel good about myself.

One summer I went on holiday to Greece with another girlfriend of mine and I made a decision. I would get married in three years, in 2007. By then I would be ready to be committed so I asked God to send me my husband. I shared this new plan with friends and although we laughed about it, I was actually quite serious!

The 2007 New Year rolled around and I found myself single. How was this going to work when I was supposed to be getting married that year? On February 3rd something happened. I was reconnecting with my old friends in Ohio online when I saw a cute face. Gathering up some courage, I wrote a very short flirty two-sentence message to this cute stranger and pressed “send”. The next day I had a reply in my inbox from Shaun!

I hadn’t recognised him at first, so many years had gone by, but knowing it was him made me so happy! We wrote each other everyday. And it didn’t take long to feel that feeling that you know this is the one. Circumstances might have been a bit odd, he lived over there, I was over here, how were we to make it work? But we did make it work, and we did in fact get married in 2007 just like I had asked God! We now have a beautiful son and another one on the way.

I love how we met a long time ago, how we reconnected years later with fire between us, and knowing we were meant to be. xoxo

Please share your love story of how you and yours met, we’d love to gush along with you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “How We Met

  1. Oh I just love my story it has so many twists and turns. Mike and I have known of each other for years. Back when I was a teen his sister and I were great friends, still are to this day. When I was younger I saw Mike as a shy and quite dorky guy, never really caught me eye. As we got older as paths seperated for a bit or so I thought. I started seeing someone in Akron who just so happened to be next door neighbors with an old HighSchool buddy. I didn’t know this before , but Mike had married my close friend from grade school. She and I had lost touch after graduation and I had lost touch with Mike’s sister after we graduated as well. So there I was dating Mike’s neighbor while he was married.

    Life continued to throw Mike and I curve balls and soon we met again. I was returning to church after leaving for quite a few years. I saw a familiar face , actually two. Mike was at institute and so was his now ex-wife. I was shocked to hear they were no more but I can now say I was happy for myself. Mike was no longer that dork I knew a decade ago, life had changed him and had changed me. We began dating after a short period if just getting to know each other AGAIN. I moved away with my mother and the day I left, he said “hey I love you, and I blurted , I love ya too” and off I went, 4 months later I return to my hometown and we were married. It’s funny because our first day he proclaimed I wll never be married again. HA! We had alot to overcome, his terminal illness, the challange of not being able to start a family without help and many more but we overcame that! We are happy with twins and are loving our life. We may not know when we will have to say goodbye , but Our love is eternal like our marriage and that gives me the happy ending I’ve always wanted 🙂

  2. Awwww…. you two are so cute! Shaun always has been the handsome, kind, funny guy who makes girls feel good about themselves. You caught yourself a keeper!

Leave a Reply

