Three Quiet Moments That Can Inspire

1. Reading. It may be rare to find a quiet moment to sit down and read something, anything. But when I can, I often feel uplifted by others words and wisdom and the lessons they’ve learned in life. Lately I have found that reading quotes is a great way to quickly feel inspired. Here are a few I have read recently:

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” -JK Rowling

“A mother understands what a child does not say.” -author unknown

“Divide and rule, a sound motto. Unite and lead, a better one.” -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

 

2. Rest. There is that moment just before falling asleep I sometimes get my best ideas. Or when an entire memory makes itself into words and I have to get up and write them all down. Or I figure out how to cut a pattern of a dress design I sketched. Sleep is vital for inspiration.

 

3. Doing dishes. Surprised? This is a time when my thoughts really run in a short amount of time. This is a time when I most often solve many of my problems. Could it be the sound of the water? The symbolism of getting washed? Or the peaceful feeling of simply looking out the window at nature. Whatever it is, I have found doing dishes frees my thoughts.

 

(photos found here, here and here)

 

Leave a Reply

