Career Test Results

Do you remember in middle school taking a career test in your home economics class? We had to answer all sorts of questions about our likes and dislikes and what we thought we were good at. My top two results: teacher and chef. Being a teacher made sense, we all wanted to be teachers at that age. But chef? That one left me puzzled.

A decade later and a high school graduation behind me, with numerous failed dinner attempts, that chef answer still left me wondering.

Until recently.

Over the years living on my own I have grown a fondness for my kitchen. I remember how it all started. My life was chaos. Dictated by everyone, but myself. How? It’s complicated. But in the kitchen I was the one in control. I could change recipes, make up my own, decide what I was eating, how to make it and when! I was also lucky enough to get a job where I had to cook and learned a lot from my colleagues. Food had a whole new place in my heart.

I’m not a chef, but I do enjoy my own food and LOVE it when others enjoy it too.

A few weeks ago a friend of mine asked me to do a monthly cooking group for the women in our church. Yay! I’m so excited for it! Last night was our debut. What fun! I made MUD pudding, there was ‘chocolate by death’, cookies, yummy frosting (more!) and boy was it all so rich! Recipes can be found here.

Has there been anything in your life that’s taken you by surprise? How accurate were your career test results? x

2 thoughts on “Career Test Results

Leave a Reply

