The Art of Eating

In high school I sat across the lunch table from my friend Josh everyday. And everyday he bought his food from the cafeteria which always included fries. I loved watching him eat his fries. The way he chewed with his mouth closed and lips puckered and his eyes looking off into the distance. Ever since, I have really paid attention to how people eat.

On another occasion a few years later, I went on a blind date with a guy whose mom begged me to go out with him. After much nagging I agreed to it. He picked me up (and had NOT cleaned his car out) and took me out to Chilis. We sat across from each other not really saying anything, hoping the food will give us conversation. When the appetisers arrived I was happy to be eating until I saw him grab those wings. I couldn’t look! To this day I still remember the mess and how gross it was to watch. Mouth open and all!

Have you ever gone out to eat and avoided certain foods? Like spaghetti, burgers, wings and ribs. For me it depended on if I wanted a second date or not! Now that I’m married, whenever my husband and I do go out we tend to always get ribs (our favorite) and share in the mess! (I carry floss in my handbag ;))

I thought about all this as I watched my son the other day eat his baby snack. He is only one, yet has already conquered the art of eating.


One thought on “The Art of Eating

  1. I have a real pet peee for people who eat with their mouths open and smack their lips together. I hate it, ragh!
    Also people who chew gum with their mouths open, I can’t stand it.

    Glad your little one is chomping nicely and politely 🙂

Leave a Reply

