He Said He Loved Me

We met in the normal way. A bunch of teenagers at a party. Eye contact from across the room. He caught me looking over at him several times. How embarrassing. Then he winked! I smiled back. He came over and sat next to me. I’ll never forget how he smelled. A mixture of laundry detergent, cologne and a faint hint of cigarettes. He was the only one in his family who cared about religion and his parents smoked. I didn’t mind, too captivated by his handsome good looks and the attention he gave. His voice was so deep and reassuring. Not like the seniors at my high school. He was different.

Our first date was at a French cuisine restaurant, with musicians that played around us and candles lit on the table. Vines of flowers cascaded from door arches and around all the columns. It felt like we ended up on the other side of the world, but the trip was only a ten minute drive. I watched his mannerisms and dubbed him a gentleman. He spoke kindly to the waiters and tipped them well. I never saw the bill. He opened the car door for me and we drove farther down the road. So much thought went into this date. I was so impressed. Dessert was eaten at an ice cream parlour with a fifties theme, a blend of Happy Days and Baskin Robbins. We shared a milkshake and he let me have most of it. What a sweet guy. A keeper. On our way back to the car, before taking me home, he put his arm around my waist and my heart pumped hard. His hand slid lower, almost resting on my bum. I acted like I hadn’t noticed. Part of me felt thrilled for the new affection and another part of me felt guilty for not feeling so bad about it. He must be the one.

Days later he came to my house and sat on the front lawn with his guitar. A musician! Lucky me. I listened to him play a song he had written about us and my eyes blurred. This had to be love. We went to a park and walked hand in hand talking the whole time. Such a good listener. He cares so much! The pond with ducks set another romantic tone to the afternoon. When I got tired he carried me back to the car. So strong! In the car he kissed me. It was a long kiss. He then pulled me onto his lap and said he loved me.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

