Another Generation

Currently I am working on a novel. I sit at my computer with all these ideas in my head, a few written down in my notebook and whatever comes to my mind shows up on the screen. My professor who is a published writer herself always says, “just keep writing”. Maybe you’ll write thousands of words before you find your story. Another couple thousand before you find the heart of that story. My novel is about mixed cultural identities. Great for a dissertation project right? To be honest this morning I realized something obvious. That my life doesn’t start with me. It started a long time ago, generations ago. I am the product of my forefather’s decisions. I am the future that was their fate. I am not me without them. Because a lot of who I am is them.

2 thoughts on “Another Generation

  1. I realy enjoy your writtings, this one in particular I can relate it to, because I wrote something very similar to my relatives in Portugal as a Christmas and New year’s message.
    I must say your writtings are very appealing, there’s no word without a specif feeling.
    Thanks for sharing Nancy.
    Carlos Terra

Leave a Reply

